The Mentor You Didn’t Expect to Be…

3 thoughts on “The Mentor You Didn’t Expect to Be…”

  1. Great post. You’re so right. In some ways we’ve formalized the mentoring process to the point that people feel like they have to “sign up” and be trained. I’ve come to believe that it is often the mentor/protege relationship that rises organically through relationship that has the best results.

    Good for you.

  2. You’re so right. People of all ages are always watching whether we realize it or not. I’ve got four pairs of little eyes at home and then an entire youth group watching as I lead. May I be what God needs me to be for them!

  3. Years ago we had one of those VHS video cameras, you know the big, honking thing that sat on your shoulder. My nephew was about 10 years old at the time and I set the heavy thing on his shoulder and showed him how to use it – he has been a successful photojournalist for 15 years. Who would have known? There have been too many wonderful influences in my life to count. God really does send people into our live to teach, comfort and influence. This is a great thought provoking post – now I will go to God in gratitude for His servants (whether they knew He was using them or not).

Leave a Reply

